Our road trip in France – Loire Valley (April 12)

As my old Macbook is a bit slow… (it’s not its fault, I should have bought it with more memory, a bigger SSD etc… :D) I am a few months behind with my pictures. Ok, it’s not just because of technical issues… I was busy, had lots of online lessons and now the school year has finished in Hungary so I have more free time.

So, let me start with two beautiful castles in the Loire Valley: Chambord and Chenonceaux. Both of them are beautiful but we preferred Chenonceaux as it was an inhabited palace. During the First World War it served as a military hospital. Gaston Menier, the owner, covered all the expenses and one of the first x-ray machines was operating here. Quite impressive. During the Second World War, the Grand Gallery at Chenonceau was the access to the free zone, and the Menier family helped to smuggle out people fleeing the Nazi tyranny.

On the other hand, Chambord Castle was a hunting castle only and it was unoccupied most of the time. Its architecture is breathtaking but lack of inspiring human history.

Leave a comment